Municipal Museum of Huy
Discover the history of the town of Huy
The Municipal Museum is housed in the convent of the Friars Minor, which was completely rebuilt in Mosan style in the seventeenth century. It covers all activities of the town of Huy from the prehistory to the present day. Although it is more specifically dedicated to fine and decorative arts, the museum also presents archaeological, ethnographic and industrial archeology objects. Ten recently renovated rooms make up the museum. The visitor first discovers the famous charter of franchise of 1066, that disappeared during the battle of Othée in 1408. He then goes through a room dedicated to the decorative arts: earthenware from Andenne and Huy, pewter from the workshops of Huy, Namur and Liège and silverware from Huy and Liège, before discovering the city of Huy over time thanks to a set paintings and engravings. The following room shows the main archaeological discoveries in and around Huy, with particular attention to the Merovingian period (Saint-Victor cemetery and glass workshops). Thereafter objects and documents related to the viticulture in Huy are presented, as well as witnesses of local and regional folklore, and pieces illustrating the metal industry in Huy. Then, through the centuries, the visitor tastes the art of living in Huy and its region, while discovering reconstructions of interiors. Finally, the last room is devoted to two painters of the nineteenth century, Émile Delpérée and Isidore Lecrenier.